top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureKieran

Reading - Finding the time and the book

Now, before I begin, I have to say I love reading. There are so many fantastic books out there, but that is really where the main problem lies. There are just too many.

As a child, reading was a happy way to pass the time, because you just had so much time to pass. You had no obligations, no work, no other pressing matters like trying to write a blog. But as an adult, suddenly the amount of free time is drastically reduced. Work gets in the way mostly, along with the mundane acts of, well, adulting. It suddenly becomes something you have to pencil into your diary - "1 hour of reading". It is no longer the spontaneous "Hey, I just fancy reading this for as long as I want." A real shame if you ask me.


I recently saw a list of 100 books to read before you die, and it turns out 100 books is a lot. Especially when a huge amount of them are equally huge. 1 hour of reading "The Lord of the Rings" will not get you terribly far. And then which book? 100 to choose from? Madness! What if I get bored and want to read another? Do I commit to this 1000 page monster just to tick it off the list? Anyway, this is just a short blog, a little rant to get off my chest. Now if you'll excuse me I have 1 hour of reading to do before washing the dishes.

5 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page